Seeking Solace

I’m feeling good

which is more than I should

relatively speaking, of course.

Better than before, and certainly no worse

after the journey, the voyage I’ve made

to the edge of conciousness, death’s debt I have paid.

Upon my return it seems rather odd

that I still have no faith, no belief in God.

How can it be so, after all I have seen?

How can I still know not what it means?

But that’s it, it is, surely it must

the universe has secrets, these I must trust.

And follow blindly into the shadow of doubt,

never really knowing what life’s all about.

Taking comfort in knowing nothing for sure,

to have no need to see beyond the door.

A life spent searching will end it regret,

expectations that will never be met.

Search not, ask not, want not, be not afraid.

this burning desire in time shall fade

as will your life, your body, your heart.

Before you know it, you’ll be back at the start.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Seeking Solace

  1. Jingle says:

    Glad to see you feel good…
    beautiful sentiments,
    beautiful delivery…keep it up. 😉

    I invite you to attend poets rally week 35, where you share your poetry and make new poetic friends…poetry awards are assigned upon completion.

    let me know when you are ready.
    Merry Christmas…
    Stay Blessed….

  2. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 35 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  3. I like the realization you had after your “voyage…to the edge of consciousness”. I also like that even after that, you still did not find religion. 🙂 (It would have been predictable to have done so.) I love the words and the flow. These could be the lyrics to a song.

  4. Dee says:

    I hope you get some answers. Even though your poetry states “ask not” it seems like you really are 🙂

  5. Glory says:

    simply beautiful.

  6. Bodhirose says:

    Your words speak a great truth that really resonate with me–the cycle of birth and death. Interestingly, yours is the third poem I’ve read today that touches on death. I really like this.

  7. This feels very much like a cautionary tale. Well written. I enjoyed reading.

  8. LeiffyV says:

    Ah, the epic journey and the questions of the cycle. Always a great topic and well written! Thanks for sharing this with us!

  9. Alethea says:

    I love the idea behind this…after all we experience in life, we still don’t have all our questions answered.
    But I’ve always trusted someone superior to me to guide me when I don’t know where to go.
    “Before you know it, you’ll be back at the start.” very well written.

    • littlexwing says:

      Thank you 🙂
      And yes, as for a guide, I definitely respect people that are able to have faith in someone guiding them, in fact I’m even a bit jealous. I’ve never been able to have faith in something like that and it’s probably why I end up miserably searching for meaning.

  10. timkeen40 says:

    I have a very practical way of seeing things. I can not walk by a skyscraper and think that it sprang up by some freak of nature. I can not look at the world in all of its instricate detail, how all its different parts mesh together and constantly recycle, seeminly only to support human life, and think that it was all an accident of nature.

    Do I believe that someone or some superior culture created all of this? I sure do.
    Do I even pretend to understand any of it? No I do not.
    Do I believe that there is something out there guiding me? Ithink so, but I can’t offer proof of that.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

    • littlexwing says:

      thank you for your input. I do agree in that there’s definitely something greater than ourselves out there, but I don’t see it as a tangible being. More of a universal force (at the risk of sounding like Star Wars… XD)

      But yes, it’s all speculation, nothing can ever be proved, which is why it’s so painful yet seductive to search for the truth.

  11. buggleweed says:

    Very deep poetry. My favourite lines are: Search not, ask not, want not, be not afraid./this burning desire in time shall fade/as will your life, your body, your heart. Time always erodes everything in its path, and then we start again. The circle of life.

  12. Your poem gives me a sense of peace. But I can appreciate this peace only because I know how it is to have that burning desire in my heart. But isn’t life about knocking doors and exploring what’s behind them? Problem arises when we search for the ‘one great truth’ which will put into place the various pieces of jigsaw puzzle that we find behind those doors. oh, I’ve given up on that already! But, in the present moment, I explore the doors wholeheartedly- and everything, good or bad, makes sense in retrospect 🙂 I love rhyming poems!

    • littlexwing says:

      You know, I really like your take on this. For me, the poem was supposed to really sort of feel like an end to looking behind doors and being content with not knowing what’s behind them, knowing that you can’t know everything. But after what you’ve said it makes me think, just because you can’t know everything, it doesn’t mean you can’t still appreciate what you do know and what you CAN find out. So open the doors, but without those crazy expectations of learning the truth. Open the doors and appreciate what’s there, not yearn for what’s not.

      Anyway, thank you so much! 🙂

  13. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of 2010 Awards Nomination Announcement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  14. Pingback: Outstanding Poetry From Outstanding Poets | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  15. meirozavian says:

    Simple but meaningful.

    Happy new year!!

  16. fiveloaf says:

    lovely.. thank you for sharing. congrats on your perfect poet award wk 36.. here’s mine for this thursday.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/the-tears/

Leave a Reply

